Can I please say, in case there is any further misunderstanding, that I have no interest in denigrating anyone mentioned in this blog. I am interested in the people I write about, simply because they are interesting people.

Just because  my starting point is one woman, whose life might not have been as free of sin as a good Catholic boy like me might wish, does not mean that every person whose name crops up here is automatically evil, or associated with wickedness in any shape or form.

I want to add to my knowledge of  a particular period in English cultural life which I still feel, despite  the many books on the subject, has been stereotyped and generally undervalued.

At my most arrogant, I want to broaden the notion of Modernity as applied to England between the wars – to include theatre, popular culture, shifting social mores and literature beyond Bloomsbury and  T.S.Eliot  – at my most honest, I want to tell some amusing anecdotes and  rescue a few forgotten names.

I hope this makes sense. I have a fondness for rogues and rascals and will post on them a-plenty. However I am aware that not everybody who sipped a cocktail or two  in the early thirties did so after making a pact with the Devil.

